Getting Wax Out of Candle Jars

I used to throw my candles away once the wax got too low for them to burn well because I didn’t know what else to do with them. I knew I could theoretically remove the wax from them so I could reuse the jar but it seemed too difficult and messy. When I hit the end of the mulled cider candle I’ve been using I decided to try a method for getting the wax out.

This how-to video I found for using hot water to remove the candle wax worked really well. I like how it is short and to the point.

If you don’t have a chopstick a butter knife would also work to poke holes in the wax. I used my electric kettle to heat the water. I also placed a crocheted trivet underneath the candle jar to be sure of protecting my counters since I am renting.

It was cool to watch the wax float to the top as it cooled, it looked a lot like a lava lamp.The images below show the wax after it has floated to the top of the water and it cooling.

 

Once the wax had completely cooled I scooped out the wax and removed the metal wick collars. Then I washed the jar and lid with soap and water.

 

Leave a comment